Zumtobel Prize 2012 for R-Urban

The self-managed architecture studio received the Zumtobel Foundation Award in the category “Research & Initiative” for the R-Urban project. This prize is awarded every two years for sustainable solutions in the fields of architecture and engineering that provide an innovative contribution to improving the quality of lives.

The Jury Prize awarded every two years is formed by specialists and international experts in the fields of architecture, art, engineering. This year they were: Ute Meta Bauer, Yung Ho Chang, Harald Sommerer, Stefan Behnisch, Kazuyo Sejima Kazuyo, Kunle Adeyemi, Brian Cody, Winy Maas.

Excerpt from the Jury:

“R-URBAN is a small but pioneering intervention in existing urban structures. In this project, the architects from AAA have developed different micro-tools with which to tackle the big social and ecological themes in an urban setting. For us, the three R-URBAN pilot projects have a pioneering character because they have proven robust, because they empower local people, and because they help revitalise a neglected urban context”.